Department of Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior - NPB

December 1, 2013

Physiological Genomics

Altered gene expression patterns in muscle ring finger 1 null mice during
denervation- and dexamethasone-induced muscle atrophy

J David Furlow, Monica L. Watson, David S. Waddell, Eric S. Neff, Leslie M. Baehr, Adam P. Ross, and Sue C. Bodine.


August 19, 2013

Tahitian bug

Tahitian gender bending bug avoids stabbing sex.

Ann Hedrick, Nikolai Tatarnic, Gerasimos Cassis, Gregory Holwell, Luke Holman, Locke Rowe

Faculty and Research


Dr. Diasynou Fioravante was awarded with the Society for Neuroscience's Next Generation Award for outstanding contributions public communication, outreach, and education in neuroscience.

Dr. Hwai-Jong Cheng was named as the recipient of the 2015 UC Davis Outstanding Faculty Advisor award. This announcement was included in the University's Fall Welcome.

Dr. Arnie Sillman passed away at age 74 on August 27th, 2015. His obituary was posted in The Davis Enterprise.

Dr. David Furlow, NPB professor, has been selected to be the new Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education (ADUE) and Director of the University Honors Program. In his new position, Dr. Furlow will be in charge of the University Honors Program, the First Year Seminar Program and the Undergraduate Research Center. As such, Dr. Furlow will continue to impact NPB, both through these new activities as ADUE, and through his continued contributions as an NPB faculty member.

Atrin Toussi, NPB major student, was awarded as a 2015 Goldwater Scholar. She is the only 2015 scholar from UC Davis and only the 3rd scholar from UCD in the past 7 years.

Dr. Mark Huising, NPB assistant professor, was honored with the 2014 Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award. The award will bring three years of direct cost funding for Dr. Huising's continued research. News10 did an interview with Dr. Huising regarding this prodigious award and his extensive research.

Brian Ford, NPB major student and UCD Men's Soccer team member, was honored with the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship. The following email was circulated through campus honoring Brian's achievement.

Barbara Horwitz was honored with the AAAS Lifetime Mentor Award for making significant contributions toward increasing diversity in Physiology.

Mark Goldman was named one of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) Professors as an outstanding researcher and teacher with innovative approaches in teaching science to undergraduates (HHMI News - June 30, 2014).

Peter Marler passed away July 5th. An article in the LA Times highlights his research and passion for the work he loved.

Kim Conley, who graduated in 2009 with a Bachelor's Degree in EXB, won the 10,000 meters at the USA Track & Field Outdoor Championships at Sacramento State (Sacramento Bee - June 27, 2014).

Axana Rodriguez-Torres, an NPB major student, has been awarded the University of California President's Outstanding Student Leadership Award (UC Davis Today - May 14, 2014).

John Wingfield is elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. (UC Davis News - April 23, 2014)

Barbara Horwitz is a recipient of The 2014 Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity and Community in the category of Academic Senate (Dateline - February 25, 2014).

Dorothy Woolley is now a member of Faculty Row (November 4, 2013). Faculty Row is an invitation only membership of accomplished national and international researchers and educators to create a network of experts to share and collaborate ideas.

Kim McAllister: How Viral Infection Disrupts Neural Development in Offspring, Increasing Risk of Autism. (Science Daily - September 26, 2013)

Lauren Liets is a recipient of the ASUCD 2012 - 2013 Excellence in Education Awards.
(Dateline - June 27, 2013)

Questions or Comments? | Last Updated: June 30, 2014.
Copyright © The Regents of the University of California, Davis campus, 2005-14. All Rights Reserved.